My Little Story: Do You Believe?

images (5)It was a sunny afternoon and I had just popped out of the office to get a bottle of drink. I met a student (Nigerian) who had earlier professed his faith in God and our Lord Jesus. He demonstrated strong Faith in God and I really liked his lifestyle. So I decided to ask him some questions I have been asking other believers to help them grow in faith. This was what ensued between us:

Me: How are you doing man?

Student: Am doing good man of God. How about you?

Me: I am doing same. As you can see me smiling with my chilled drink

Student: hahahaha! Glory to God

Me: bro, as our Lord God lives, can you help me with £250. I need it badly?

Student: man of God, you know that we are deep into the semester and my parents haven’t been paid so I don’t have that much in my account.

Me: Okay, how about tomorrow. Can you? Do you believe that God can direct money into your account?

Student: I believe but my parents….God uses my parents so I would have to talk to them or lets us wait till month ends.

Me: Do you limit God that much in your finance? Don’t you think he could use other means to supply the money? Often some people are quick to judge the king’s guard in 2 Kings 7 for doubting Elisha’s prophecy. You see, the guard considered all other things physically possible, that is Samaria was under siege and there was no way food could come in or go out. People were eating human flesh and the situation was that bad. Besides, the guard was probably aware that farmers sow and wait for months to harvest. Therefore Elisha telling them of abundance overnight was something unusual. He doubted. But God had plan in place to ensure fulfillment of the prophecy. He used what was otherwise impossible, unwise, rejected, trampled upon to accomplish His Word given through Elisha.

Tell me bro, is anything too hard for our God? We don’t get answers to prayers because we want or expect God to work in the usual way. That is how we perceive things to be done. So if your parents are no more, how do you expect to get money?

Now tell me, do you believe that God can send money through other means you have not thought of? Do you believe that God can do it His way?

Student: Yes I believe. Thank you so much for the insight. Maybe I should buy you one more drink because I have been limiting God for so long. God bless you

Me: God bless you too for your time.

  • Message

God’s ways are above our ways and His thoughts above ours. He works in ways we cannot see or imagine. In 2 Kings 7, He used people Samaria thought that nothing good could come from them. They we not counted for because of their ailment But they were objects God used to perform miracle for Samaria or to fulfill His promise of abundance.

20121125-121349.jpgThroughout the Scriptures we read stories of how God used unimaginable ways or means to fulfill His Word, Ways people thought was not possible. He used people who were not qualified to do great works, and to fulfill His Word. That is why I always encourage people to leave “The How” to God because He knows the best way to meet our needs. It could be sickness, poverty, job, etc. Whatever it is, He has unimaginable ways of fulfilling his promises concerning your life. Do you believe?

Do you believe that God can send right people in your way, even now?

Do you believe that God can heal you, right now, of any sickness or disease in your body?

Do you believe that God has supply your needs through ways you have never thought of?

Ephesians 3:20 says God

“is able to [carry out His purpose and] do superabundantly, far over and above all that we [dare] ask or think [infinitely beyond our highest prayers, desires, thoughts, hopes, or dreams]” AMP

Do you believe?

Two things struck me in His word. The first one is God can make a path in the sea and the Second is that He can make water spring forth in the desert. In effect, if you see only water around or before you and you feel that you are going to be drowned or destroyed, know that He can make a way or he has a path for you. And if you find yourself on a wilderness or desert and you feel thirsty, know that He can make water spring forth for you. Don’t limit God to your ways or natural ways because He has supernatural ways of doing things.

Maybe we can pray the honest prayer of the man in Mark 9:24, “I believe, but help me overcome my unbelief!

Jesus said that

Anything is possible if a person believes” (Mark 9:23, NLT).

Quick scan your life now;

  • Is there anything you want God to do for you?
  • Have you been limiting God’s ways in your life?
  • Do you have unanswered prayer request(s)?
  • Do you believe God has millions of ways to meet your need?

Don’t limit God’s power to perform the miracle you seek. Trust that He will use His way(s) to meet your needs.

I will close with this:

For this reason I am telling you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe (trust and be confident) that it is granted to you, and you will [get it]. (Mark 11:24, AMP)

Do you believe?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

